Day 477: I Can’t Go for That (No Can Do)

i-cant-go-for-thatBeing selective is not necessarily a bad thing, meaning if what you will and will not accept and allow in your process is best for you and thus what’s best for all life.

So a while back I was having a chat with a few friends and the subject came up of music that one listen to, that is supportive to one’s process, and at that time I really didn’t put too much thought into it, but the other day I stepped into a once tempting situation in which I would have normally fallen, but in that moment I took a step back and assessed the situation where I could see the outcome, the playout and the consequences that lied ahead, if I were to pursue this venture, if I were to fall into temptation.

Funny enough the first thing that came up within me was; “I Can’t Go for That”, which was interesting being that there’s a song by Daryl Hall and John Oates with the title ‘I Can’t go for that’ (No Can Do) that was created in 1981 that I really enjoyed ever since the first time I ever listened to it, then started to think, hey this song can be supportive to me in my process, because every time I’m faced with a tempting situation, I’ll say and live the words, ‘I can’t go for that (No Can Do), every time I start to beat myself up about something, I’ve made a mistake on, ‘I can’t go for that (No Can Do), every time an influx of thoughts comes up in my mind that plagues me, ‘I can’t go for that (No Can Do), whenever I start caring about what others may think about me, which then hinders me from getting to know myself, ‘I can’t go for that” (No Can Do), whenever the feeling of wanting to give up and give in, pops up in my mind, I’ll say to myself; “I CAN’T GO FOR THAT” (No Can Do), as sort of a cool way to have fun with my process and a way to short cut through the riff raft and feeling monotonous/stagnated within my process.

Now me with music in my life have been sort of a releasing mechanism, where I would listen to/make music to release my emotions and/or to get my mind off of things, thing was that it was only momentary, because after I would listen to the song about a thousand time, go through stages of emotional turmoil, (and in some cases) cry my eyes out, I would believe I made myself feel better, but then turn right back around and do the same things over and over again and retreat to the next song, I deemed built for that moment, but obviously something had to give and the given was a gift to myself that gave me the tools to stop these somber to happy, then back to somber mood swings, I perpetuated throughout my life, due to me being fed up and telling myself in a way; “I Can’t Go for That” any longer (No Can Do).

Just so happened at that time, I found a group of people who too told themselves in a way, “I Can’t Go for that” any longer, in their lives and made a stand, this group is called Desteni which stands for Oneness and Equality, now the cool thing about it is, they presented the tools for me to be able to (for one) stop using music and things as emotional release mechanism, but to see and use things in a way that would support me along in my process, and that’s what I’m doing. So now when I see things in my life of a persuasive nature, I look at it and tell myself; “I Can’t Go for That” (No Can Do).

Thanks for reading.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

