Day 279: Lip Service

Lip-ServiceLip Service is the speaking of knowledge and information without taking any action behind the words that you speak. I’m sure you’ve all heard the terminology and/or the sayings; “You’re all lip service, with nothing to back it up” and “All you do is talk, talk, talk with no action behind it” and the saying; “Talk is cheap, prove it”. Now this last particular saying comes up mostly in relation to getting into a conflict situation where the proposed outcome is fighting, which is pretty fascinating because, when you look at it, no one really wants to fight, so we huff and puff and talk shit to try and scare the other person into submission and when it’s time to put our money where our mouth is, (sure enough) the ones that do the most talking, clam up and now change their tone, in search for a calmer resolve with the words; “Naw, I’m not saying that, all I’m say is…”, which shows that all that they were saying was Lip Service.

Lip Service is also saying “I Know” to everything, as if you’re never wrong or could ever be wrong about anything. Within this lies a few dimension, one of which we can’t stand to be corrected, being that possibly there was a time in our life, when everything we knew or thought we knew was still being explained to us, as if we didn’t know, and so we took that incident, in that moment personally, and it stayed with us throughout our entire life, up until this point. Now, whenever someone is showing us a particular specific, deeper into something that we know the surface of, we say “I Know” and not really listen to what is being said, then go to do that which we think we know/have down and mess it up, do a half ass job and/or come back and say; “Ah what did you say again” (it we’re not too stubborn to take responsibility for what we thought we knew, but really didn’t know in the first place). Another dimension within saying; “I Know” is; Not wanting to be seen as being “dumb” or “incompetent” in the eyes of others, which is also interesting because, once they realized that we really don’t know, is like an act of perpetuating “dumbness” and/or “incompetency” onto ourselves, which is in fact one of the consequence of spewing Lip Service.

What is not seen, realized or understood within that is the judgment we place upon ourselves, in thinking that others may judge us for what we don’t know and fall right into our own trap in admitting that I don’t know by saying; “I Know”, I mean come on, how much more obvious can we be? In the end it’s all Lip Service.

For a deeper understanding on “I know”, Please read the Heavens Journey to Life Blog: Day 147 and 148.

Then you have the most important point of Lip Service (in service to self), which is not said to others, but requires Self-Honesty, where you have things like your “New Year Resolutions” and your commitments to lose weight or to stop drinking and smoking or doing drugs or committing yourself to being nicer to a family member or your partner in a relationship and/or in walking one’s own commitment statements within one’s own process and then turn around and do the exact opposite of what you just said. I mean, I know this is a process and all, but man I got to get me shit together and stop just spewing Lip Service. How about you?

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have defined Lip Service as the speaking of knowledge and information without taking any action behind the words I speak.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have spoken knowledge and information without taking any action behind the words that I spoke.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have defined Lip Service as in saying; “I know” to everything, just to say I know it, because at a time in my life, when I knew something, I was still being explained that which I knew and have taken that incident, in that moment, at that time in my life personally and so from then on, throughout my life, whenever anyone told me or showed me something, I would say I know.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have defined Lip Service as in saying; “I Know” out of the fear of being seen as being “dumb” or “incompetent” in the eyes of others, which is interesting because I didn’t realize that, once they realized that I really didn’t know, it was like an act of perpetuating “dumbness” and/or “incompetency” onto myself, which was in fact one of the consequences I faced when spewing Lip Service.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to see/realize/understand that within that, I was judging myself in thinking that others may judge me for what I don’t know, in which I fell right into my own trap in admitting that I really didn’t know, by saying; “I Know”, which was obvious, in the end Lip Service.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have spewed Lip Service without realizing the consequence for not following through with what I had spoken about.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have been a babbling fool in saying I know to things, I had no Idea of and/or didn’t know about at all.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to throughout my life have missed the most important point of Lip Service (in service of self), which is not said to others, but requires Self-Honesty, where I’ve had things like my “New Year Resolution” that I didn’t follow through with, as well as now in walking my commitment statements, within my process and then find myself turning right back around and doing the opposite of what I just said, for example, I commit myself to focusing on and realizing my breath in every moment, then not totally do it 100% of the time and have to start all back over again, this being do to all that I have spewed as Lip Service.

When and as I see myself spewing Lip Service as in speaking knowledge and information without taking any action behind the words I speak and saying “I Know” (but really don’t know) out of the fear of being looked at and/or judged by others in a certain light, when in fact I am judging myself and also when I commit myself to doing and/or following through with things and turn right back around and do the opposite of what I said that I would do, I stop and breathe.
I see/realize/understand that I have engrained this pattern of always wanting to be right about everything, as in wanting to win or not be seen in a different light then what I presented myself as. I also see/realize/understand that, also in instances I am not being man of my word to myself, which is self-dishonesty and houses the consequences of abusing my physical body and the perpetuation of my life being fucked in the way it was. And so;

I commit myself to no longer being a babbling fool in speaking on that which I am unsure and/or don’t know about and that which I know about, but have not taken action on, as well as not following through with what I have committed myself to, but instead to just keep my mouth shut and stay out of my mind, when and as I have not walked that in which I am tempted to speak on and/or don’t know about.

I commit myself to being more aware of and following through with my commitment statements, when and as I am in certain situations that I have committed myself to taking a particular corrective action on and walking through to transcendence of said situation.

I commit myself to re-defining Lip Service from the aforementioned definitions to; Speaking on that which I know that I have walked through from a realization into investigation into understanding and that of Self-Corrective living.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

