Day 275: Why Wait

Why-WaitWhen you can jump right in and do it and complete it yourself. Often times we find ourselves waiting for others to help us do things and/or waiting for others to do their part of a mutual project that may or may not have a deadline connected to it, but mostly a lot of projects do have deadlines connected to them, so let’s look at a few reasons why we tend to wait on others to do their part, when we can help them out and do some of, it not all of their part for them, if or if not, there are insinuating circumstances involved.

One reason I see is laziness, where we somehow feel that our own work load is enough and doing someone else’s work load on top of our work load is too much to handle, therefore I will become tired and irritated, although my work load is finish and I have nothing else to do for the moment, but to enjoy my moment of doing nothing. That’s what I call laziness.

Another reason is when a person is looking out for themself, where you’ll have someone who wants to be seen as someone who always has their shit together and their shit only, within this, the person could care less if someone else finishes their own work load or not, as long as they have their work load done. This type of person is definitely not a team player, but a cut throat and should be watched because at any given moment this person will also take your work load and say that it’s theirs, meaning they will assume the credit for what you’ve done.
Another point is when we are just looking for others to fail, so we won’t help them and wait until they do, meaning if they don’t finish their work load and get reprimanded, but what is seldom realized is that, them not finishing their work load may affect us as well and if we just so happen to be working on the same project, in the long run it definitely will affect us.

Throughout my life I have been on either end of all three of these boats (per se) and what I’ve found is that by waiting and not helping, by pitching in to get something done and/or just taking the initiative and doing it on your own, takes time away from doing other things, because now you’re either waiting on someone, pushing up against a deadline and/or have missed the deadline and have fell behind, so I find it easier to help, by pitching in and getting things done. This morning was a prime example, where my work partner was supposed to be at work at a certain time and do his specific part, but for some reason or another didn’t make it and so, instead of placing a dilemma on myself, after I finished my work load, I did his as well and come to realize why’ll I was doing his that, if his part wasn’t done at that specific time our project would have been completely messed up, which would have set us back about a month or so, so I was grateful for taking the initiative in doing his part and later on called him and he told me what had transpired with him not making it to work on time, which was understandable and I explained to him the work situation and everything worked out accordingly.

So why wait when you can jump in and participate and make thing easier for yourself and those around you.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have waited instead of jumping right in and helping do and or complete a task for someone else.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have been lazy at times in thinking that my work load is enough and doing someone else’s work load on top of my work is too much to handle, therefore I would make myself tired and irritated, although my work load is finished and I have nothing else to do for the moment, but to enjoy my moment of doing nothing, which always ended up not being enjoyable because all the work wasn’t completely done.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to been one who would look out for myself, where I wanted to be seen as someone who always had my shit together and my shit only, within that I wouldn’t help others with their work load, but if I did, I would want the credit for doing so and have at times said that other peoples work was my own.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have been one who’ve wanted others to fail and not help them on purpose, so that they would fail in their task, not realizing that if they failed then I failed to and thus bumped my head every time I have done this throughout my life.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to see/realize/understand that it is partly my responsibility to help other when needed, because in helping others, I am helping myself, with the possibility of learning something in the process.

I commit myself to continue helping other out with their work load if needed as I see/realize/understand the necessity in doing so, as in there being more time to do other things for the both of us as well as deadlines being reach and doing unto others as I would like to be done unto being what is best for all, so within that, waiting is no longer an option, but a must do in expanding/growing/developing and changing myself.

I commit myself to taking the initiative in pitching in and helping others when needed.

I commit myself to no longer using laziness, being tired and irritated as an excuse to not help and/or do others parts for them under insinuating circumstances, but instead to continue to jump right in and do it after my work load is complete, with no expectations of praise or reward or receiving credit for anything.

I commit myself to being selfless instead of selfish, in just thinking about myself, but instead to see others when doing the same job as me as well, in seeing that by helping one another the outcome will be/is better.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

