Day 260: In Between a Rock and a Hard place

In-between-a-rock-and-a-hard-placeIn between a rock and a hard place is an island where you sit, wondering what should you do, if or if not you should say something and thinking about possible outcomes, one way or the others, if or if not you do say something, about the information you just came across from someone that somewhat forced you into this position, stranded on this island (per se). Layman’s Terms; A reliable source has given you a piece of information about what one of your business partners has or has not done that is to the possible detriment and concerning the well-being of the business, and to top it off, what was supposed to be taken care of 25 days ago wasn’t and although you have seen this business partner a numerous amount of time, leading up to you receiving this valuable piece of information by the reliable source, they haven’t once mentioned that they did not complete the task that was supposed to be taken care of more than 25 days ago, so what is it that you do, because now you have just been placed (have placed yourself) on this island between and rock and a hard place, where you now have to be the bearer of bad News (so to speak) to your other partners, by making them aware of the information you’ve just received from this reliable source that has to be brought to the forefront and rectified with an immediate solution or else.

I was faced with this exact situation where it was brought to my attention that one of my business partners did not pay a bill of sort and we were thus behind for this particular bill 25 days, so my initial reaction was that of being astounded and being that I’ve known this particular partner much longer than the other two (2), for a moment I felt as if I was stuck in between a rock and a hard place, being that I was the one to receive this information and would have to tell the other two (2) and speak to the partner in question and come up with a viable solution with everyone, without anyone reacting and making the situation any worse then what it was. Now the old me would have taken this as an opportunity to state my dislikes and disagreement about this particular partner and/or anyone else for that matter if they had made such a mistake and the situation would have turned into an all-out problem, but instead I first spoke to the other two (2) partners and explained to them what I’ve found out and that it was my responsibility to speak to the other partner first, because I was the one told the information and if they were to speak to him, it would be in third party, so they agreed and in the meeting with the other two (2) we were able to focus on and come up with a solution, cool, so now all I had to do was to speak to the partner in question, which I did this morning where in our conversation, I came straight out and told him what I had heard and whom from, which he agreed the information to be correct and gave me his viable explanation as to why the bill wasn’t paid, so afterword I told him the solution me and the other two (2) partners had come up with and so he agreed and that was that.

What I see/realize/understand is that when it comes to being stuck in between a rock and a hard place it’s like our escape place in our minds to try and validate and gather all the negative information that we have compiled over a period of time about someone to be used against such person at the time of their mishap to make ourselves seem more than or better than that person in the eyes of others, so in fact we are not stuck and/or forced into this position (in between a rock and a hard place), but instead rather place ourselves there on purpose thinking/perceiving/believe that our purpose is to win in this game of survival that we so eloquently play with ourselves, believing that this is what life is all about, when in fact it’s not. So for this;

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have thought/perceived/believed that being stuck in between a rock and a hard place is a good thing and thus I am able to think my way into a solution.

I forgive myself that I have accept and allowed myself to have thought that thinking my way into a solution is viable/plausible and commonsensical, when in fact it is not the highway to an effective solution, but the byway to conflict and confusion.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to see/realize/understand that I have placed myself into this position on purpose out of my own self-interest to get and/or maintain the upper hand over another person in this game of survival the I had so eloquently play with myself thinking/perceiving/believing that life is all about winning when in fact it’s not.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself have used being stuck in between a rock and a hard place as an escape place in my mind to try and validate and gather all the negative information that I have compiled over a period of time about someone to be used against such person at the time of their mishap.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have tried and used the mishap of another person to my advantage, to make myself seem more or better than them in the eyes of others, which in fact was a tell all sign seen by others in saying to them that, if I could do this to another person then I would do the same to them and thus I have just compromised my relationship with that person, by momentarily suiting my own self-interest, which isn’t/wasn’t worth it.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to see/realize/understand that when faced with such a situation, the commonsensical thing to do is to be straight forward, with no reactions/backchat/internal conversations coming up within and as me what so ever, but instead to remain stable and to the point, that way I am able to come up with an effective and quick solution.

When and as I see myself thinking that I’m stuck between a rock and a hard place, where I become astounded by a piece of information I receive from someone about something that one of my business partners has or hasn’t done, that could be detrimental and concerning the well-being of our business where I would rather wonder why in my mind, instead of being straight forward and to the point to get to an effective solution, I stop and breathe. I see realize/understand that I am placing myself in this position of (being stuck in between a rock and a hard place) on purpose, thinking/perceiving/believing that my purpose is to win in this game of survival that I play with myself, where I try and take advantage of someone’s mishap to make myself seem more or better than them, in the eyes of others, which when it’s all said and done, I end up compromising my relationship with both, the person with whom I attempted to take advantage of and the person I was trying to impress.

So I commit myself to no longer placing myself in such a position of being stuck in between a rock and a hard place of self-interest/deceit and manipulation, when it’s all said and done, where I try and take advantage of other peoples mishaps and end up compromising my relationships with others, but instead to when and as I’m given information about someone, to become solution orientated and to be straight forward and to the point, so that I am able to reach an effective/viable solution that is best for all involved.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

