Day 246: Think Twice Before You . . .

Think-before-youAs if the first time wasn’t enough. Have you ever heard this saying; “Think twice before you” and so on and so forth? Most of the times this saying is related to someone thinking that someone is about to make a “bad” decision, so the say something like; “You better think twice before you do this, that or the other”, but have you ever noticed that the person telling you this never really gives the reason why they’re saying this and nine (9) times out of ten (10), if you ask them why they said it, you’ll probably hear something along the lines of; “Because I heard that”. . . or “What sa name told me this, that or the other”, so there’s never really a full understanding of why one should think twice (Outside the obvious of course). What I’m getting at here is that we think too damn much and what we call this thinking twice is our first and second notion, where let’s say we think about how we’re going to do something and call it our first notion and then we think, picture and see ourselves in our minds not being able to pull it off and so we get scared and call it off and say; “On second thought” . . . meaning, we just gave up before we even started and have no idea why, but went with our second notion (thought) and then later on down the line we end up saying; “Man I should’ve followed my first notion (thought) and here Lies the problem, because we we’re lying to ourselves by thinking in the first place, where we did follow our first notion and it lead us to the second notion and now we’re stuck in a conundrum of indecisiveness and what do we do? Instead of taking self-responsibility for what we’ve just created for ourselves, we blame it on luck, as in saying; “Oh well, better luck next time” and walk away, leaving it at that. And forget everything that just happened, (so we think).

Then comes along the next person and they share with us a game place, an idea or blueprint of what they’re going to do. What do we do? In our minds we first off take them telling us as an invite to share our opinion, when in fact it’s not, they’re just conversing with us, but we don’t see that, what we see is someone in need of our opinion and so unconsciously we bring up how we faired in a similar situation and tell them; “You better think twice before you do what you’re thinking about doing”, when actually it wasn’t a thought of what they were going to do, but it is now because you just brought it to their attention as a thought, and thus pulled them down to your level of indecisiveness and now they’re stuck in a conundrum right alongside you and will inevitably say two (2) things; “Man I should’ve followed my first notion” and probably “Damn I shouldn’t have ever told them shit, let along listen to what they had to say”. The funny part about it is, we walk away thinking that we just HELPED someone out, when in fact we just HELD someone back.

I have been in both shoes as the one telling someone to think twice before they did something and the one who was being told to think twice before I did something and as a result, I see that I have limited myself and other, being that I accepted and allowed my mind to direct my decision making and have inflicted my indecisiveness onto others by stating my opinion, when it wasn’t necessarily warranted or wanted and so for this;

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to think twice before I did things, as if the first time wasn’t enough.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have thought that someone was making a bad decision and I told them to think twice before doing what they were going to do, not realizing that it was me making the bad decision in trying to decide for them what they should do, when I wasn’t asked, but still gave my opinion.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have thought that thinking twice was me following my first and second notion, when in fact it was me just following thoughts around in my mind.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have thought twice about something and later on down the line, have told myself; “Man I should’ve follow my first notion”, not realizing that I did follow my first notion and it lead me to my second notion, in which I ended up giving up before I even started what I set out to do.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to think/perceive/believe that I wouldn’t be able to pull something off because of following thoughts around in my mind and listening to the voices in my head telling me that I wouldn’t be able to do it.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to listen to the voices in my head telling me that I wouldn’t be able to do something and believed them and thus gave up on what I was thinking about doing.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize that I was extremely limiting myself in believing that I should think twice before I did something that was for the betterment of myself and well-being.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have become stuck in a conundrum of indecisiveness and instead of taking self-responsibility for what I had created for myself, I blamed luck, as in saying; “Oh well, better luck next time and walked away leaving it at that.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have interrupted someone’s follow through in doing what they had planned, implementing their idea and/or creating what they had blueprinted down to create , by bringing up how I faired in a similar situation and telling them; “You better think twice before you do what you’re thinking about doing”, which to them wasn’t a thought of what they were going to do, until I brought it to they’re attention as a thought and pulled them down to my level of indecisiveness by projecting my negative way of looking at things onto them.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have projected a negative outlook of things onto others, when they were just sharing what they were doing and I took it upon myself to give my unwarranted and unwanted opinion, which in the end was a major factor in deterring them from what they had set out to do. Thinking that I just HELPED them, but in fact I just HELD them back.

When and as I see myself limiting myself by listening to and following thoughts and voices around in my mind, where I would come to an conclusion that I am not able to do something because my minds told me so and end up thinking I should have followed my first notion and not realizing that I didn’t where It lead me to my second notion and then became stuck in a conundrum of indecisiveness and ultimately end up giving up on what I set out to do, I stop and breathe and tell myself this is too much thinking. I see/realize/understand that I and accepting and allowing my mind to direct my decision making process, where I relinquish my power and control over myself and thus end up limiting myself to not ever following through with anything and thus not expand/grow or develop myself to reach me fullest potential.

I commit myself to taking my power and control back over my decision making process and no longer accept and allow my mind to be in the driver seat (per se), where I tell myself to think twice before I do something that is for the betterment of myself and well-being. I mean it shouldn’t be a question or a thought behind if I should expand myself, but to do it. So I commit myself to no longer thinking twice but instead to express and do that which is best for all life, in every moment and within that lives the decision to do or not to do something in my life.

When and as I see that someone is just sharing what they are going to do as in a game plan, and idea or blueprint for their betterment and well-being, to me, I stop and breathe and make sure that I am not in my mind, but here aware and just listening, because I see/realize/understand that I have a tendency to think that my opinion is warranted when it’s not and so I commit myself to no longer giving my opinion when it’s not asked for when someone is sharing, but instead to remain here out of my mind and merely listen to what they’re saying.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

