Day 229: Ultimatum

UltimatumHow many times have you given a person an ultimatum or received an ultimatum from someone? In other words; “you better do this or that and if you don’t, this or that will happen”. I mean we’re driven by fear so much that we will do just about anything that someone says, if we’re given an ultimatum. And this is interesting because it shows that we have defined the word threat as an actual action taken, as a doing, instead of a will do. How is it that a demand can change our whole point of view on something in the presence of a threat? We have to ask ourselves, what it is that we fear losing and why, and from there correct the point of fear of loss, and that’s when the threat becomes meaningless and the ultimatum turns back into a request/asking. This shows that if a request and/or series or request ends up being an ultimatum, then it never was a request in the first place, but a spiteful way to cover up a demand (a demon request).

When looking at the word Ultimatum, within the sounding of the word, it sort of sounds like “I Made Them” or “U Made Them” (do this or that, as the suffix in finishing the sentence), which is bullshit because you can’t actually make someone do anything, you can only play off of their emotion, in which case they fall for it. I mean really, do you like to be made to do anything? So why is it that we give other people ultimatums? This I see stems from my childhood where I was given ultimatums in a sense of doing things for a reward and/or praise, but when I got too old (so to speak) to receive the rewarded ultimatum, I received the demanded version, which was rather threating, and this being embedded within me, throughout my life, I have been subject to ultimatums and have complied for many different reason, mostly because of something I did or didn’t do that I put myself in a situation for. On the other hand I’ve used ultimatums to get what I wanted in my relationships with others and this is crazy because within that we’re not taking into consideration the problems we are creating within our relationships with others and for ourselves, so all and all I find that Ultimatum is not something that should be used as an external factor in getting our way/what we want or as a resolve/solution to a situation and/or problem.

Is there a moment when and how an ultimatum can be use?

To and towards self, where one can give oneself an ultimatum as inspiration or motivation to do or not do something, I mean because if we gave ourselves ultimatums, I see it as us telling ourselves the truth of what will happen if we don’t do this or that and/or do this or that, so in this instance, I see that by giving myself an ultimatum, I will be assisting and supporting myself in being/becoming more self-honest with myself. So within this, I commit myself to no longer place others in a demanding position of an ultimatum and or placing myself in any situation of not taking care of my responsibilities and thus being subjected to or given an ultimatum, but instead, to in walking my process, when/as I see that I am drifting, to give myself an ultimatum in reminding myself the truth about what will happen as consequences of me not staying aligned to and living that which is best for all life in every moment of breath.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be subjected to ultimatums, because of not taking
care of my responsibilities in one way or another.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have given others ultimatums in saying; “you better do this or that or else this or that will happen”.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have been driven by the fear of loss and thus believed the threat of an ultimatum to be and actual action and thus gave my power away.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have let a demand change my whole point of view on something in the presence of a threat.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize that if a request and/or series of request ends up being an ultimatum, then it never was a request in the first place, but a spiteful way to cover up a demand (a demon request).

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be subjected to ultimatums in my childhood in the sense of doing thing for a reward and/or praise, but when I got too old (so to speak) to receive the rewarded ultimatum, I received the demanded version, which was rather threating.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to use ultimatums to get what I wanted in my relationship with others, instead of taking into consideration the problems I was creating within my relationships with others and for myself.

When and as I see that I am not taking care of my responsibility, which result in me subjecting myself to ultimatums and/or giving others ultimatums within my relationships with them and not taking into consideration the problems I am creating in my relationships and for myself, I stop and breathe. I realize that this stems from my childhood when I was given ultimatum and have embedded this mentality of perpetuating and accepting spite in the form of ultimatums as a normal way of doing/getting things and thus have made my relationships with others and myself more conflicting.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

