Day 213: Distractions

distractionIsn’t it funny how distractions are more prevalent when you are doing something process related and less prevalent when you’re not? I mean the reason, then why we’re not distracted is because, what we are doing in that moment is a distraction in itself. Distractions come in all shapes and forms from an annoying noise or sound to that thought we follow around in our mind telling us “come here”, ever so subtly drifting away from what we are doing. Distractions are meant to stop us from doing things, seeing things and remembering things vital to my well-being. Distractions can kill us as well as save our lives (to a certain extent).

Life is not a distraction, but we will allow ourselves to be distracted from seeing, caring for and living life to the fullest and expressing our utmost potential. Being self-interested is the main distraction that distracts us from seeing, caring for and living life to the fullest and expressing our utmost potential, which brings up the next question. Can one be distracted from being self-interested? Hmm! My answer is yes, one can be distracted from being self-interested, but only if one is self-honest. Meaning if one sees, realize and understand that one’s self-interest is the cause for the interruption (internal eruption) that is going on in one’s life, then the sheer realization of that in itself is the distraction and once the distraction is in place, correction is imminent, so in essence all realizations are distractions from self-interested points, but it doesn’t stop there, one must move on to correction or else the realization becomes knowledge and information, which is useless if not acted upon (put into action), practicing what one preaches, being a person of one’s words, living words, becoming the living words that one speak.

Interesting point, speaking of distraction, I have experienced all kinds of distraction throughout my life and have been a distraction as well in other’s lives, some warranted in hindsight, but most, an unconsciously planned nuisance, where I didn’t know just how much of a “dick” I could be at times (hypothetically speaking) and would distract others from whatever they was doing, if I wasn’t the center of attention.

A distraction serves as an action of deterrence in the attempt to deter one’s mind away from someone or something. What this shows is, if you accept allow yourself to be distracted then you are giving your power away to that which distracts you, person, place, state or things, distractor. On plenty of occasion I have reacted to distractions in giving my power away, where I would become angry, not considering, maybe I just lacked focus, which turned out to be, in a lot of cases and the rest was probably something I had no business doing, where the distraction was my wakeup call/warning of such, which in hindsight I am grateful that I’m not dead.

Now that I’m learning focus, I experience distractions to test my focus, where for example, let’s say I’m reading process related material and my phone beeps, normally where I would jump to see who or what it was, if it is unexpected I now continue reading until I get to a point or finish all together. Another example is if I’m outside communicating with the things around me; how any man made noise would distract me, I now stop, breathe and forgive the thought. So for this;

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have been distracted when doing something process related.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to see/realize how distractions are more prevalent when I am doing something process related and less prevalent when I’m not, until of late.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize the reason I wouldn’t be distracted is because, whatever I was doing in whatever moment, was a distraction in itself.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have thought annoying noises or sounds was distracting and have let them distract me from what I was doing that was substantial to my well-being.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have become annoyed at noises and sounds that I considered an interruption to my focus.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to follow a distraction as that thought in my mind telling me to “come here” and I ever so subtly drift away from what I was doing.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have let a distraction stop me from doing things, seeing thing and remembering thing that is vital to my well-being.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize just as distractions can kill me, so can they save my life, (to a certain extent).

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to allow myself to be distracted from seeing, caring for and living life to the fullest and expressing my utmost potential.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be self-interested.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed my self-interested way of being, to be the main distraction that distracts me from seeing, caring for and living life to the fullest and expressing my utmost potential.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to realize that I can be distracted from being self-interested, until of late.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to distract myself from being self-interested, until of late.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to be self-honest enough to distract myself from being self-interested, until of late.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed my self-interest to be the cause for the interruption (internal eruption) that went on in my life unchallenged until of late.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to realize in essence that all realizations are distractions from self-interested points, but it doesn’t stop there, I must move on to correction or else the realization becomes knowledge and information, which is useless if not acted upon (put into action), practicing what I preach, being a man of my word, living words, becoming the living words that I speak.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have been a distraction in other
people’s lives, where I would distract them from what they we’re doing in being an nuisance, if at some point I wasn’t the center of attention.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have given my power away to that which distracted me, person, place, state or things, distractor, where I would become angry, not considering maybe I just lacked focus, which turned out to be, in a lot of cases and the rest was probably something I had no business doing, where the distractions was my wakeup call/warning of such, which in hindsight I am grateful that I’m not dead.

When and as I see myself being distracted from doing something process related, I stop and breathe because I see that my focus is not in the correct place and I am drifting as resisting what I am supposed to be doing.

I commit myself to maintaining my focus on what I am doing process related at any given time and no longer accept and allow my attention to be so easily swayed.

I commit myself to focusing on what I’m doing in making sure that what I’m doing is not a distraction in itself, but and action of self-realization, self-awareness, understanding and self-wellbeing.

I commit myself to no longer following a thought around in my mind as a distraction, but instead to forgive the thought that comes up in the moment, when I am doing things.

I commit myself to no longer consider annoying noise or sounds to be interrupting to my focus but instead to focus on not internally erupting from within, but to stabilize myself and regain focus.

I commit myself to no longer let distractions stop me from doing, seeing or remembering things vital to my well-being, but instead, it will do me well to remember self in everything I do. Within this; I commit myself to remembering self in everything I do.

I commit myself to no longer allowing myself to be distracted from seeing, caring for and living life to the fullest and expressing my utmost potential, but instead to express myself to my utmost potential by eradicating these distraction from my life.

I commit myself to distracting myself from being self-interested, by correcting myself when and as I realize things about myself that cause harm to myself because I am in being self-interested.

I commit myself to becoming more self-honest with myself to distract myself from being self-interested.

I commit myself to correcting myself from my self-realizations: that they do not become just knowledge and information which is useless, but that I act upon (put into action), practice what I preach, become a man of my word, live words, become the words I speak.

I commit myself to focusing on directing myself: that I don’t allow myself to be distracted in giving my power away, but instead to stand equal to and one with who self is and live focus as me and my life to that which is best for all life.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

