Day 207: Through the Eyes of A Child

Through-the-eyes-of-a-childThe last few days I have been around two of my nephew who is still fairly young and innocent and I have picked up a lot from them in watching them and seeing the mannerisms that they have picked up thus far throughout their short time here on earth from the environment they’re being raised in and the people around them. One thing I realize about them is that, when they want something they are very adamant about getting it and if they don’t get what they want, they’ll throw a small temper tantrum, now seeing them act this way, I could see myself within them where even in part of my adulthood I would throw a tantrum when I didn’t get my way, but as adults our tantrums comes with spiteful action against others in trying to manipulate our way into getting our way. Another thing is whenever I was faced with a tantrum; I would react back with my own tantrum because I didn’t know how to deal with it.

The other day I watched a video from the Self & Living website on “Consistency is key in Parenting” where, it was being explained how when a child through a tantrum and where the parents behavior pattern was to react by throwing their own tantrum, to change their behavior and not react but to talk to and explain to the child why they couldn’t have whatever it was that they wanted and to not use there coping mechanism as in walking away with an emotional reaction, but instead to stand their ground and remain consistent and the child would see that and realize the way they were going about their tantrum wasn’t working anymore and would eventually change their behavior pattern.

Although I am not a parent, I followed the advice on the video and when I was faced with a tantrum by one or both my nephews, I utilized the information from the video and stood my ground and explain to them why they couldn’t have what they wanted without any reaction whatsoever coming up within and as me and saw a world of difference in their behavior as we’ll as mine from the perspective of not getting myself all wound up when I was faced with the tantrum and so for this;

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize that I could see myself through the eyes of a child as in my mannerism of how I used to be and am to a certain extent.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have not realized, how I was, growing up and the things I picked up, would come from my environment and the people around me, such as my parents, siblings and friends, in which I would carry with me as a part of me, throughout my adulthood.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to in part of my adulthood throw a tantrum when I didn’t get my way where the tantrum would come with a spiteful action against others in trying to manipulate my way into getting my way.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have when I didn’t get my way and would throw a tantrum use a spiteful action against others to try and get my way.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have been spiteful against others in trying to manipulate my way into getting my way.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed to have throughout my life manipulated my way into getting my way.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to whenever I was faced with a tantrum;, I would react back with my own tantrum, because I didn’t know how to deal with it.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to whenever I was faced with a tantrum, I would use as a coping mechanism, walking away with an emotional reaction, not realize that it wasn’t a solution to the problem, but an escalation to the problem where now every time I walked away, I would be faced with more tantrums as if the situation would repeat itself in showing me that I needed to face the problem and not walk away from it.

When and as I see myself not realizing myself through the eyes of a child as in my mannerism of how I used to be and am to a certain extent where the things I picked up on would also come for my environment and the people around me, such as my parents, siblings and friend, in which I would carry with me as a part of me, throughout my adulthood in throwing a tantrum when I didn’t get my way and the tantrum would come with a spiteful action against others, I stop and breathe. I see/realize/understand that this is the reason why when faced with a tantrum I would react back with my own tantrum and use as a coping mechanism, walking away with an emotional react to the tantrum being perpetuated toward me, as I have done the same thing to another and what I should do is to stop my reactions and change my behavioral pattern to calming myself and stand my ground in being consistent in talking/explaining to them why they couldn’t do or have what they wanted to and/or have their way in that moment.

I commit myself to continue to calm myself in the face of a tantrum being perpetuated towards me and directing the situation in talking/explaining to the perpetrator why they can’t have their way in the moment.

I commit myself to no longer throwing my own tantrum when I am not getting my way, but instead to direct myself to seeing/understanding why my way is not possible in that moment and if needed to change my starting point of why I am wanting my way in that moment and to correct my application.

I commit myself to stopping my use of spiteful actions against others when I’m not getting my way, by breathing myself through my reactions, applying self-forgiveness and walking through the point and directing the situation to the best possible outcome of that which is best for all involved.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

