Day 167: The Divide

The-DivideThe Separation is extensive as we all know and have experienced where as a whole no matter how you put it, we are more comfortable for some reason or another in the presence or around our own race in general. Now this post is not to extend The Divide or to even go deeper into the whole racial bullshit, but to shed light on the extent of separation within the communication aspect when simply passing each other on the street, in the grocery store, in the office at work, in the laundry mat or just simply saying Hello to a next door neighbor, where saying Hi, Hello, What’s up, Hola, Nin hao, Halla, Bonjour, Hei, Kumusta, Hej (or whichever language you speak), is more readily said to a person of that race than any other, (hence the comfort-ability), from the perspective of living in an open society, meaning a society with a vast array of different cultures such as where I live in the United States, although it’s just not limited to the U.S. Even within the same racial society you will still find The Divide.

I can attest to being an Afro American male where when we see another Afro American male we more readily say what’s up to each other more often than we would to anyone else, for example, just today I was walking toward the door leaving a store and as I glanced to my right I caught the eye of another Afro American male whom I’ve never seen before, in line at the counter, who with all the different people around him made it apparent to say what’s up to me, I mean of course this is not the first time, but one of many and not to even single out this incident but to make a point. So why is this so? Is it because we see the same-ness in one another, and if that is the case, shouldn’t we be able to see that sameness within each and every person we pass? One of the predominant reasons why when passing one another we don’t say anything reeks of fear.

The Fear is extensive where the media has literally altered the way we view society and people as a whole to the point where we use words like “Different” in separating ourselves from the person next to us, in which case if you look closer you’ll see yourself. Speaking of fear the other morning I was waiting for the train and an older Hispanic woman asked me if the train was going to the particular place that she wanted to go, and I said yes and she begin telling me how this is her first time coming outside and how she hadn’t been outside her home for about (4) year and so I asked her why not, and she said she was too afraid to and I said ok, what were you afraid of’, and she started telling me how all she did was watch the News and Television shows of all the bad things that was going on outside so she became afraid that if she came outside something bad would happen to her and so I said what “changed your mind” and she told me how her grandson and granddaughter throughout the (4) year would come and bring her things that she need and after a why’ll they stop coming all together, so she finally got to the point where she forced herself to get up and get outside, by telling herself; “If something is going to happen to me, then oh well I’ve lived long enough” and now she was going to visit her granddaughter at her college. Within this shows the extensiveness of fear in separating ourselves from the whole to the extreme. Interestingly enough this also shows how once we break/get over our fears we realize how easy it is to communicate with others, let alone another race.

I’ve investigated this point of The Divide within the communication aspect of it all by when walking down the street, every person I passed I said Hello, Hi or How are you doing to, and what I found is that the majority of every person responded with somewhat of a startled hello back as in saying “hey, I wasn’t expecting that, but thank you, Hello”, which means that people want to communicate with each other, but who will be the one to open the door for initial communication when passing by?

Take the initiative, Stop “The Divide”, Say Hi.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to for some reason or another as a collective is more comfortable in the presence or around my own race in general from the perspective of passing each other and saying hello more often than I would anyone else.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to when and as I see another Afro American male more readily say what’s up to them more often than I would anyone else.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to at times live in The Divide of separation from others (In general) by not acknowledging them when and as I pass, see our connect eyes with them.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to as a collective acknowledge some because I see the sameness in them and not others which is perpetuating The Divide.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not see the sameness within each and every human being as life, but within the limited spectrum of the mind’s eye in which I think/perceive/believe that I’m different, not seeing/realizing/understanding that the differentness is just a program.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to see/realize/understand that differentness is just a panoramic projection program of an illusion which I have accepted and allowed to blind me from seeing the truth that I am the same as everyone else.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to as a collective let fear be a determining factor in me not communicating with others when and as I pass them on the street, in the grocery store, in the office at work, in the laundry mat or just simply saying Hello to the next door neighbor.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to take the initiative, Stop “The Divide”, Say Hi when passing others.

When and as I see myself for some reason or another as a collective is more comfortable in the presence or around my own race in general from the perspective of passing each other and saying hello more often than I would anyone else, I stop and breathe. I realize that I am perpetuating The Divide of separation within humanity by defining myself as being different than others in a stereotypical sense, because of the color of my skin, which is bullshit.

I commit myself to dropping all stigmas stereotypes and embedded patronized actions of separation that I have placed upon myself as the collective whole of society within individual races by acknowledging each and every human being on this planet as being the same.

When and as I see myself saying “What’s up” to just another Afro American male, I stop and breathe and make sure the next person I see that I do the same and the next and the next and so on and so forth.

I commit myself to saying what’s up as I remember to every person I pass and not just certain people, groups or individuals.

When and as I see myself thinking/perceiving/believing that I am different from others, I stop and breathe. I see/realize/understand that differentness is just a panoramic projection program of an illusion, which I have accepted and allowed to blinds me from seeing the truth that I am the same as everyone else.

I commit myself to no longer accept and allow myself to think/perceive/believe the illusion of being different is real, but instead to realize I am walking my process of redefining me to walk/become/live/express my self-equality and oneness, standing equal to and one with everyone else in humanity.

I commit myself to no longer let fear be a determining factor in me not communicating with others as I pass by, but instead to make it a point to communicate with others as this will assist and support me in facing my fears.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

