Day 164: Coming Home to a Mess

Hot-MessEntrusting the way you do things work related into the hands of another who knows the job as well, if not better than you do is a worry free thing to do. The outcome should be the same regardless who’s at the helm. Therefore when you return you pick up where they left off, (transition problem free) and continue on with the job at hand. Seems simple enough, right? But this wasn’t the case, and although this particular transfer has happen before with no problem, this time it was slightly different.

People often have different methodologies and way to achieve the same outcome when doing the same type of job, but sometimes a problem can ensue when using different tools for different stages within the process of doing the job. This was the case that I came back to, in which I came home to a mess where let’s say as a real live example within the job I do we use multiple water hoses for different aspects of the job and for the most part, these water hoses shouldn’t be switched in anyway what so ever if they’re already assigned for a specific task, and at my station they were, so the mess that I came home to was that the person who picked up where I left off had switched the hoses and used them for different aspects of the job which caused a setback at my station and on top of that, left everything in a mess and now I would have to work that much harder to restore and get my station back up to the standards it was before I left.

My initial reaction was that of anger and for a while there I had and extensive amount of backchat to come up within and as me of; “W.T.F. happened” and “What did they do” and “How could they let this happen, when they should know better than I do” where I projected all the blame onto the other person completely abdicating my responsibility in the matter. As a matter of fact I didn’t take into consideration their reasoning for things being the way they were, that is until I brought it all back to self and realized that before I left I didn’t discuss my procedures with them and at what stage I was, within the process of doing the job, all I did was asked them would they be able to cover my station for the next few days and they agreed.

Goes to show that although I wasn’t expecting coming home to a mess, shit happened and my participation within it all was my lack of communication, so how can I possibly point the finger or shift 100% of the blame onto the next person. Whenever you find yourself in a similar situation make sure to have a look within yourself at your participation within it all, that way you know what and what not to do the next time.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to come home to a mess, in not considering my participation within what I was about to discover.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to entrust the way I do things, work related’ into the hands of others, without specifically telling them my way of doing the job at hand.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to react in anger towards the person who left my station in a mess.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed the backchat; “W.T.F. happened” to come within and as me, when I returned and saw the mess that was left.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed the backchat; “What did they do” towards the other person, to come up within and as me when looking at the job they did, that wasn’t done correctly.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed the backchat; “How could they let this happen, when they should know better than I do” to come up within and as me.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to project blame onto the other person completely abdicating my responsibility in the matter. As a matter of fact I didn’t take into consideration their reasoning for things being the way they were, that is until I brought it all back to self and realized that before I left I didn’t discuss my procedures with them and at what stage I was, within the process of doing the job.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to see/realize/understand that although I wasn’t expecting coming home to a mess, shit happened and my participation within it all was my lack of communication, so how can I possibly point the finger or shift the 100% of the blame onto the next person when I’m just as fault..

When and as I see myself coming home to a mess, in not considering my participation within what I was about to discover, once I see what it is, I stop and breathe and bring it back to self as in seeing what did I do to help perpetuate what I am seeing as this mess. I commit myself to if I’m as fault, to take responsibility for my participation and to make sure I don’t repeat that point of mistake again.

When and as I see myself entrusting the way I do things, work related’ into the hands of others, without specifically telling them my way of doing the job at hand, I stop and breathe. I realize how this will become problematic, where once I return I will have to work that much harder to correct what was done incorrectly and clean up the mess that I find.

I commit myself to when and as I entrust the way I do things into the hands of other to make sure I specifically tell them my way of doing the job at hand, that way no mistake should be made.

When and as I see myself reacting in anger towards the person who left my station in a mess, I stop and breathe. I realize that reacting won’t solve anything, but will only prolonger the corrections that has to be made as well as inflicting pain onto my body and if I’m in pain then the corrections will either take that much longer or make things that much worst.

I commit myself to stop no longer dwelling in reactions, but to be the solution for the correction of things.

I commit myself to no longer accepting and allowing backchat to come up within and as me, when I return from some place and see that there is a mess and that my job was done incorrectly, but instead to get to work and clean up what needs to be, and correct what needs to be, as this will ensure self-direction instead of being directed by what the mind speaks.

When and as I see myself projecting blame unto the others person completely abdicating my responsibility in the matter. As a matter of fact I didn’t take into consideration their reasoning for things being the way they were, that is until I brought it all back to self and realized that before I left I didn’t discuss my procedures with them and at what stage I was, within the process of doing the job, when coming home to a mess, I stop and breathe. I see/realize/understand that although I wasn’t expecting coming home to a mess, shit happened and my participation within it all was my lack of communication, so how can I possibly point the finger or shift 100% of the blame unto the next person when I’m just as fault.

I commit myself to taking responsibility for my job even if I’m not there because I have in moments chances to call and check up on my job, to make sure things are going as they should , and to explain if there are questions.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

