Day 136: Procrastination

In this post I want to talk about Procrastination and how I have participated in procrastinating throughout my life where whenever there was/is something I must do that I particularly experienced resistance towards doing, I would find any and everything else to do leading up to me doing the actual task. Although I would eventually do the task, I would push off doing it as long as I could then once I started doing the task and realize how simple/easy it was/is, I would say to myself; “Man I should have did this a long time ago.Procrastination

This is interesting because I see how when I was young and my mom would tell me to clean up, wash my clothes or do something before she came back to check and see if I did it, all I thought about was playing so I would play as long as I could before I knew when she was on her was back and then I would rush to do whatever it was that I was supposed to do and most of the times I didn’t finish what it was she told me to do and would get in trouble. So within that playing was the thing which triggered the Procrastination and resistance in pushing things off.

Another case of Procrastination is when I think/perceive/believe that things is going to be hard to do or take a long time to get finished, so I procrastinate around, thinking how I’m going to tackle what it is I have to do and end up wasting the time that it would have probably taken me to do the thing on overthinking as Procrastination. Again at the end of it all I tell myself; “Man I should have did this a long time ago” because once again when I finally got to it I realize all I had to do was to start.

Then you have looking ahead as Procrastination where let’s say in the mornings when you get going with your routine you start looking ahead at what you have to do next, then next, then next, and although you will get through it, the feeling of being overwhelmed (may or may not) comes up and you become sluggish and start procrastinating from one task to the next and the fascinating thing is once we’ve finished with our morning routine we think that we’re tired and need a bit more rest, not realizing that this perceived tiredness feeling that we are experiencing is because of my Procrastination.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to participate in Procrastination throughout my life where whenever there was/is something I must do that I particularly experienced resistance towards doing, I would find any and everything else to do leading up to me doing the actual task.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to find any and everything else to do leading up to doing the actual task instead of doing the task first off and getting it done and then doing any and everything else after.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to although I would eventually do the task, I would push off doing it as long as I could, then once I started doing the task and realize how simple/easy it was/is, I would say to myself; “Man I should have did this a long time ago.”

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to push off doing the task as long as I could, as in procrastinating because I resisted doing the task.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to when I was young whenever my mom would tell me to clean up, wash my clothes or do something before she came back to check and see if I did it, all I thought about was playing, so I would play as long as I could before I know when she was on her what back and then I would rush to do whatever it was that I was supposed to do and most of the times I didn’t finish what it was she told me to do and would get in trouble.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to let playing (when I was young) be a thing which triggered the Procrastination and resistance in me pushing things off.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to think/perceive/believe that things is going to be hard to do or take a long time to get finished, so I procrastinated around, thinking how I’m going to tackle what it is I have to do and ended up wasting the time that it would have probably taken me to do the thing on overthinking as Procrastination.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to waste the time that it would have probably taken me to do the thing that I deemed as being hard to do or take a long time to get finished on overthinking as Procrastination.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to overthink and thus procrastinate.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to procrastinate.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to become overwhelmed when looking ahead at what I have to do next, then next, then next at times during my morning routine and become sluggish and start procrastinating from one task to the next and once I finished with my morning routine, think that I’m tired and need a bit more rest, not realizing that this perceived tiredness feeling that I was experiencing is because of my Procrastination.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to become sluggish and start procrastinating from one task to the next once I looked ahead at what I had to do next, then next, then next in my morning routine.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to think that I’m tired and need a bit
more rest once I finish my morning routine.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to realize that this perceived tiredness feeling that I was experiencing is because of my Procrastination.

When and as I see myself participating in Procrastination where whenever there is something I must do that I particularly experience resistance towards doing and find any and everything else to do leading up to me doing the actual task, I stop and breathe and do it. I realize that this resistance that I am experiencing is an indication of a breakthrough in changing from who I have become to who I am as life so I need to jump at doing what it is that I am resisting doing to experience real change.

I commit myself to jumping at doing what it is I am resisting doing so that I can experience real change.

I commit myself to doing the task first off and getting it done and then doing any and everything else later.

I commit myself to no longer let playing be the thing which triggers the Procrastination and resistance in me pushing thing off, but instead to let the resistance that I experience be the trigger in me jumping to it and getting things done.

When and as I see myself thinking/perceiving/believing that things is going to be hard to do or take a long time to get finished, so I procrastinate around, thinking how I’m going to tackle what it is I have to do and end up wasting the time that it would have probably taken my to do the thing on overthinking as Procrastination, I stop and breathe and tell myself; “Hey this is too much thinking, just to it.” I realize that I have conditioned myself to staying within a limited box frame of mind, so when things seems as if they are outside the box (so to speak), I automatically assume that it is beyond my reach (so to speak).

I commit myself to no longer overthinking as in remaining trapped inside this limited box mind frame that I have placed myself in, but to instead (hypothetically speaking) expand myself bigger than this box of limitations and tackle what it is that I have deemed as going to be hard to do, from the get go.

I commit myself to no longer wasting time when faced with things to do or making excuses as to why not to do it, but instead to just do it.

When and as I see myself procrastinating, I stop and breathe. I see/realize/understand that this makes no sense because in the end I will have to do the thing anyway so there should be no hold up in doing it and that by procrastinating I am creating consequences for myself and my physical body as well as it’s like telling yourself; “You don’t want to change” and “You can’t change, you’ll always be the same”. So within this;

I commit myself to no longer accept and allow myself to participate in any form of Procrastination that will stop/limit/restrict me from changing from who I have become to who I am as life.

When and as I see myself becoming overwhelmed when looking ahead at what I have to do next, then next, then next, at times during my morning routine and become sluggish and start procrastinating from one task to the next and once I have finished my morning routine, think that I’m tired and need a bit more rest, I stop and breathe. I realize that this perceived tiredness feeling that I am experiencing is because of my Procrastination from becoming sluggish after feeling overwhelmed from looking ahead at what I had to do in my morning routine in which I started overthinking.

I commit myself to when and as the thought come up to look ahead at what I have to do throughout my morning, I stop and breathe and forgive myself for this thought immediately in the moment as I know that this will lead me to overthinking as I have been down that road before.

I commit myself to remaining present and watchful of the thoughts that come up in the mornings that will lead me into Procrastination as well as throughout my day and stop them in the moment so I can live my day as what is best for all.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

