Day 133: Listen

In this post I will be having a look at the word Listen and my participation in and perspective on this word, as I see it.

lISTENWhen looking at the word Listen what stands out at me is two (2) words the word “List” as in compiling a list, and the word “Send” as in sending something. As I see it when listening to someone in any situation it’s like, as they are speaking we are compiling an ”List” of the information that is being given to us and “Send” it to our brains at which time we compute it and create our sense of things from the information we received.
Somewhere in between that process things get lost in translation so to speak where when it’s all said and done what we “took out” of what we were listening to was only what we wanted to hear, hence “took out”. (And Of course there is investigating all things and keep that which is good). This is generally speaking and related to myself as in what I see within myself as a pattern.

Throughout my life I’ve always gotten; “Did you hear what I said” and “Are you listening to me” and “I hope you’re listening because this is going to be on the test” and each time I could have sworn up and down that I was listening, which in fact I was but the problem was, the “When things get lost in translation” part, where I would get stuck at every time. It’s like (in using the analogy that I described above), once I’d compiled all the information that was being given to me from what I heard, during the time it took me to send this information to my brain and compute it, I had already changed, transformed this information into something totally different than how it was originally said/spoken/brought across as.

So the pattern that I am faced with today is listening but not computing what I am hearing because I accept and allow my mind to step in and interject with my own self-interest and what sounds correct to me and not what actually is correct as in what was said/spoken/brought across. I realize that in order to listen effectively and comprehend what I’ve heard, I must first clear myself before listening to anything as in making sure no thoughts/feelings/emotions or reactions of any kind comes up within and as me before and as I am listening to another.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to when listening to what someone is saying or has said, I create my own sense of things from the information I received as in somewhere in between the process of listening and computing what was actually said, things get lost in translation so to speak where when it’s all said and done what I “took out” of what I heard was only what I wanted to hear, hence “took out”.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to take out what I only wanted to hear when listening to others and thus I am not able to comprehend what is/has been said in its totality.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to throughout my life whenever I’ve gotten; “Did you hear what I said” and “Are you listening to me” and “I hope you’re listening because this is going to be on the test” from others, swear up and down that I was listening and in fact I was but the problem was, the “When things get lost in translation” part, where I would get stuck at every time.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to why’ll listening accept and allow things to get lost in translation every time. It’s like (in using the analogy that I described above), once I’d compiled all the information that was being given to me from what I heard, during the time it took me to send this information to my brain and compute it, I had already changed, transformed this information into something totally different than how it was originally said/spoken/brought across as.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to change, transform information that I am/have listened to into something totally different than how it was originally said/spoken/brought across.

So within this, I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to Listen but not compute what I am hearing because I accept and allow my mind to step in and interject with my own self-interest and what sounds correct to me and not what actually is correct as in what was said/spoken/brought across.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to see/realize/understand until now that in order to listen effectively and comprehend what I’ve heard, I must first clear myself before listening to anything as in making sure no thought/feelings/emotions or reactions of any kind comes up within and as me before and as I am listening to another.

When and as I see myself listening to what someone is saying or has said and create my own sense of things from the information I received as in somewhere between the process of listening and computing what was actually said, things get lost in translation so to speak where when it’s all said and done what I “took out” of what I heard was only what I wanted to hear, hence “took out”, I stop and breathe. I see/realize/understand that I am aligning myself to my own self-interest instead of listening to what is/has been said unconditionally which in turn I end up not comprehending what has been said/spoken/brought across and end up making a mistake and having to re-go back over and/or redo things.

I commit myself to listening to what is/has been said by others unconditionally to insure that I comprehend what I’ve heard which will cut back dramatically on the mistakes I make.

I commit myself to no longer taking out only what I want to hear when listening to others but instead to investigate all things and keep that which is good.

When and as I see myself why’ll listening accept and allow things to get lost in translation every time wherein I change, transform the information that I am/have listened to into something totally different than how it was originally said/spoken/brought across, I stop and breathe. I see/realize/understand that I am accepting and allowing my mind to interject with my own self-interest and what sounds correct to me and not what actually is correct as in what was said/spoken/brought across.

I commit myself to no longer accept and allow my mind to interject and change, transform the information that I am/have received into something totally different at any point of listening to what is/has been said/spoken/brought across by another, but instead to clear myself by making sure no thoughts/feelings/emotions or reactions of any kind comes up within and as me before and as I am Listen to another.

I commit myself to realizing that in order to Listen effectively and comprehend what I’ve heard, I must first clear myself before listening to anything as in making sure no thoughts/feelings/emotions or reactions of any kind comes up within and as me before and as I am listening to another.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

