Day 126: When it Counts

When-it-CountsWhen it counts is a terminology that is used in basketball (as well as other things) where during the game a player will go most of the game and don’t score one (1) point, but in the final seconds of the game when the score is tide up, that player scores the last few point to win the game for his team. After the game he is known as the one who came through “When it Counts” to win the game.

I used to be one who would wait until the last minute to do things or get things done, thinking that I had all the time I needed and would pull through in the last minutes “When it Counts”. Honestly speaking this only worked a few times in my life when it came to doing certain things. I “Failed to save the day” (so to speak) way more times than it actually worked, but yet and still I continued with the mentality of wait until “When it Counts”.

This became more of an excuse driven type thing where I didn’t really want to do things so I just held off doing them until the last minute. What I didn’t realize at that time was that every moment counts and plays a pivotal role in getting things done and by holding things off until “When it Counts” is like gambling in hoping and wishing that when I did/do, finish or finally got to it/things, it would count.

So oddly enough when it came to changing myself I had the mentality of wait until “When it Counts”, which is not the way it works. This stems from my childhood belief system that I was in where we believed that if we ask for forgiveness then all will be forgiven, so within that I created the mentality to wait until “When it Counts and at the last minute all I have to do was to ask for forgiveness and all will be forgiven..

When it comes to changing oneself, every moment counts if you want to experience change for real and the way to achieve this is through dedication, commitment, persistence, perseverance and self-honesty to name a few. So in all actuality “When it Counts” is in every moment.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to wait until the last minute to do things or get things done, thinking that I had all the time I needed and would pull through in the last minutes “When it Counts”.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to although I “Failed to save the day” (so to speak) way more times than it actually worked, yet and still I continued with the mentality of wait until “When it Counts”.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to use wait until “When it Counts” as an excuse driven type thing where I didn’t really want to do things so I held off doing them until the last minute.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to realize at that time that every moment counts and plays a pivotal role in getting things done and by holding things off until “When it Counts” is like gambling in hoping and wishing that when I did/do, finish or finally got to it/things, it would count.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to when it came to changing myself I had the mentality of wait until “When it Counts” which is not the way it works.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to think/perceive/believe that I can wait until “When it Counts” to change myself, not realizing that in fact by having this mentality I am resisting changing myself and therefore will never change until I correct my starting point to change.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to think in my childhood belief system and believed that if I asked for forgiveness then all will be forgiven, so within that I created the mentality to wait until “When it Counts” and at the last minute all I have to do was to ask for forgiveness and all will be forgiven, not realizing that I was deluding myself into thinking this so I wouldn’t have to change..

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to see/realize/understand that when it comes to changing oneself, every moment counts if I want to experience change for real and the way to achieve this is through dedication, commitment, persistence, perseverance and self-honesty to name a few. Within this, I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to see/realize/understand that in all actuality “When it Counts” is in every moment.

When and as I see myself waiting until the last minute to do things or get things done, thinking that I had all the time I needed and would pull through in the last minutes “When it Counts”, I stop and breathe. I see/realize/understand every moment counts and plays a pivotal role in getting things done and by holding things off until “When it Counts” is like gambling in hoping and wishing that when I did/do, finish or finally got to it/things, it would count which is not the case, meaning it doesn’t work that way.

I commit myself to doing things and getting things done in the moment and no longer wasting time to get to or do them.

When and as I see myself using wait until “When it Counts” as an excuse driven type thing where I don’t really want to do things so I hold off doing them until the last minute, I stop and breathe. I realize that by giving myself an excuse I am resisting doing things which is not conducive to getting things done.

I commit myself to no longer holding off until the last minute to get things done but instead to realize that every moment counts in the process of getting things done and do it.

When and as I see myself within changing myself having the mentality of wait until “When it Counts”, which is not the way it works, I stop and breathe. I see/realize/understand that this stems from my childhood belief system where we believed that if you ask for forgiveness then all will be forgiven, so I created the mentality to wait until “When it Counts” and at the last minute all I have to do was to ask for forgiveness and all will be forgiven, I also realize the I am deluding myself into thinking this so that I wouldn’t have to change myself.

I commit myself to seeing/realizing/understanding that when it comes to changing oneself, every moment counts if I want to experience change for real and the way to achieve this is through dedication, commitment, persistence, perseverance and self-honesty. Within this I commit myself to dedicating myself to change, staying persistent in changing myself, persevering no matter what comes up and becoming self-honest in every moment breathe.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

