Day 119: Asking Questions

Asking-QuestionsI read a post the other day and in the post the individual was talking about not being afraid to ask for help. As I was reading the thought came up of how I have been one who didn’t like to ask questions from the perspective of not having a clear understanding on how to do things where I didn’t want to ask questions because I was afraid that others would think that I’m dumb, look at me funny, talk about me or laugh at me, so I never really asked for help on how to do things if I didn’t know how to do them or wasn’t comprehending what had been explained, I would just take it upon myself to “try” and figure it out or wait until someone else asked the question that I wanted to ask.

In my case this also came with consequences of getting “bad” grades in school. I was a way too self-conscious introvert to break myself out of this pattern. First off I didn’t “have a voice” to speak up, let alone to ask questions in public and to top it all off whenever I would come home with a “bad” grade (bad report card) I would be in trouble with my parents, so not Asking Question didn’t pay off in the long run, but yet and still I would continue to follow this pattern throughout my life.

I would always tell myself that, they wasn’t explaining things clearly enough (in laymen terms) for me to be able to understand and comprehend it the first time, obviously at that time I didn’t realize how to stop my mind from being everywhere and just focus on what was at hand. I guess you can say a cool thing that came out of all of this is, I told myself that if and whenever I show or teach someone anything that I know how to do, I make sure that I explain it as simple as possible so they would be able to comprehend it.

This pattern I find myself following still to date where instead of Asking Question to get clarity on something I take it upon myself to just do it or think of it my way then do it, although I realize the simple thing to do is to ask questions.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not like Asking Questions from the perspective of not having a clear understanding on how to do things where I didn’t want to ask questions because I was afraid that others would think that I’m dumb, look at me funny, talk about me or laugh at me, so I never really asked for help on how to do things if I didn’t know how to do them or wasn’t comprehending what had been explained.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not ask questions because I was afraid that others would think that I’m dumb, look at me funny, talk about me or laugh at me.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to think/perceive/believe if I ask questions others will think that I’m dumb, look at me funny, talk about me or laugh at me.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to take it upon myself to “try” and figure it out or wait until someone else asked the question that I wanted to ask, instead of just Asking Questions for myself.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to within this create consequences for myself of getting bad grades in school.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be way too self-conscious and introverted to break myself out of this pattern.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be self-conscious.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to believe that I don’t have a voice to speak up, let
alone to ask questions in public and to top it all off whenever I would come home with a “bad” grade (a bad report card) I would be in trouble with my parents, so not Asking Questions didn’t pay off in the long run, but yet and still I would continue to follow this pattern throughout my life.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to use the excuse of telling myself that they wasn’t explaining things clearly enough (in layman terms) for me to be able to understand and comprehend it the first time, instead of just Asking Questions.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to still follow this pattern to date of; instead of Asking Questions to get clarity on something, I take it upon myself to just do it or think of it my way then do it, although I realize the simple thing to do is to ask questions.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to see/realize/understand that by not Asking Questions, I am creating consequences for myself as well as limiting myself to not Expanding/Growing/Developing myself to experience my utmost potential internally within and externally within my world and reality.

When and as I see myself to not like Asking Questions from the perspective of not having a clear understanding on how to do things where I didn’t want to ask questions because I was afraid that others would think I’m dumb, look at me funny, talk about me or laugh at me, I stop and breathe. I see/realize/understand that I am being self-conscious about myself in which I am limiting myself and not Expanding/Growing/Developing myself to experience my utmost potential.

I commit myself to no longer limiting myself to my own understanding and being self-conscious but instead to ask questions as in doing so will assist and support me to Expand/Grow/Develop within myself.

I commit myself to Asking Questions whenever I am not accepting and allowing myself to comprehend something that was explained.

I commit myself to no longer accept and allow myself to follow this pattern of not Asking Questions, but to instead break myself out of this cycle and ask questions to clarify what I am not allowing myself to see clearly.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

