Day 110: Gossip

gOSSIPWhy is it that every conversation that we have with someone else is always about someone else, what they’ve done or what the word on the street is. We call this just catching up on things with a friend, when in fact it just plain ole Gossip. “And he/she did this and that”, “I felt like this and that”, “You/I should have done this or that”, “Guess what they did”, “I can’t stand this or that person”, “I wanted to do this or that to/with this or that person” etc. It’s as if there is nothing substantial to be discussed or talked about. Gossip has become the new “Norm” so to speak although we have been participating in and as spitefulness throughout our lives. We do this because we are afraid that if we don’t we will lose “friends”. So what happens is that we come up with this grand idea that “if I don’t talk about this or that person first, they will talk about me and turn everyone else against me, but if I do then when they go to talk about me to others, no one will believe them, so I better make it good”. (Sounds familiar) When in fact it’s us who is making this up in our minds, believing it to be true and making an irrational decision to act on what we just came up with. What we don’t realize is that this is detrimental to the other person who has no idea WTF is going on where one day they talk to their friend and everything is fine then the next day things change to where no one wants to deal with them and they end up racking there brain trying to figure out what just happen and nobody will tell them anything. This is not cool.

I have experienced this being done to me and for the longest didn’t allow myself to figure out why this had happen or might I say how I let this happen being that I haven’t been one who “particularly” liked to Gossip or even hear others Gossip, I would just walk away from them/the situation or fine a way to change the subject and/or dismissing myself from them/ the situation, not realizing that by dismissing myself from them/the situation without directing the situation to the best possible outcome, I was being self-righteous in a way where I would look down on the people who gossiped, as if I was better than them or something. So in all actuality I was the Gossip starter because of the way my actions showed it. In fact by holding a judgment against gossiping and/or the people who gossiped, I would manifest it (Gossip) upon myself, to where others would talk about how “stuck up” I was and how I thought I was better than everybody else. So within this, the underlying point is, if you have any forms of judgment towards anything in particular or in general, you manifest (make happen) whatever it is, towards yourself. Meaning it will happen to you.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have been one to Gossip on “occasions”, why’ll claim that I haven’t been one who “particularly” liked to Gossip or even hear others Gossip.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to just walk away from them/the situation or fine a way to change the subject and/or dismissing myself from them/the situation instead of directing the situation to the best possible outcome.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to realize that by dismissing myself from them/the situation without directing the situation to the best possible outcome, I was being self-righteous in a way where I would look down on people who gossiped, as if I was better than them or something. So in all actuality I was the Gossip starter because of the way my actions showed it.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be self-righteous in a way where I would look down on people who gossiped, as if I was better than them or something.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to hold a judgment against gossiping and/or people who gossiped.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to see/realize/understand that by holding a judgment against gossiping and/or the people who gossiped, I would manifest it (Gossip) upon myself, to where others would talk about how “stuck up” I was and how I thought I was better than everyone else.

When and as I see myself gossiping on “occasions”, why’ll claiming that I haven’t been one who “particularly” liked to Gossip or even here others Gossip, I stop and breathe. I realize that I am being a hypocrite and judging others without taking responsibility for my own actions in stopping myself from gossiping, so who am I to say anything about what someone else is doing.

I commit myself to taking responsibility for my own actions in stopping myself from gossiping by keeping my conversations with others on myself, what I have done, realized or in conjunction with what we are doing together.

When and as I see myself wanting to walk away from them/the situation or fine a way to change the subject and/or dismissing myself from them/the situation instead of directing the situation to the best possible outcome, I stop and breathe, I realize that I am trying to run away from what I see myself as doing or have done within them and not wanting to face the truth about myself. I also realize that I was being self-righteous in a way where I was looking down on people who gossiped, as if I was better than them or something

I commit myself to directing the situation to the best possible outcome of that which is best for all.

When and as I see myself being self-righteous in a way where I would look down on people who gossiped, as if I was better than them or something, I stop and breathe. I realize that I am no better than them, as I have done the same as them.

I commit myself to no longer separate myself from the fact that I have done the same as others but instead to correct myself and my application in stopping myself from gossiping.

When and as I see myself holding a judgment against gossiping and/or people who gossiped, I stop and breathe. I see/realize/understand that in doing so I am manifesting it (Gossip) upon myself to where others would talk about how “stuck up” I was and how I thought I was better than everyone else, in which having judgment against anything period is a form of gossiping.

I commit myself to no longer judge others for gossiping let alone anything that they do as I see that I have done the same, but instead to walk my own process of stopping these patterns of judgment and gossiping within me so that I may become who I am as life and live, express, apply what is best for all in every moment.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 110: Gossip

  1. Cool example of ‘taking it back to self’ Carlton, thanks for sharing. Yes, we are all involved and so responsible for what happen in Gossip – even if it is only within our own mind.

Leave a Reply

