Day 105: Excuse Me

Excuse-MeWe give ourselves all types of excuses, but the most prominent excuse of them all, but yet not realized is when we say; “Excuse Me”. When having a look at this statement we find that the statement in itself is an excuse from the perspective of needing a “nice” way to say to someone; “Hey I’m trying to get your attention so look at me”. I hadn’t really looked at it in that way before seeing that I believed it to be harmless and in some instances it may well be, because we may lack the “proper’ or “correct” words to say what we mean, then again that may be an excuse. So all and all, I find the statement; “Excuse Me” to be and excuse driven statement.

In exploring the contexts in which we use the statement; “Excuse Me”, giving an few examples; Say you walked by someone and “accidently” bump into them and said; “Excuse Me”, the excuse within this is not taking responsibility for watching where we are walking, in a rush and/or stuck in our minds. It’s like we’re telling the other person (hypothetically speaking); “Hey let me run this excuse by you real quick”, “accept that I have and excuse that I’m not going to tell you”, so; “Excuse Me” for bumping into you.

Then you have a similar situation where you are walking and you come across someone blocking the pathway who don’t see you coming, so you resoundingly say; “Excuse Me”, the excuse within this is before we got up to them we had all kinds of thoughts, play outs going through our minds as in; “What should we do” and “What if this or that happen” and “What if the person reacts to us passing by” etc. Still we are failing to take responsibility for being in our minds leading up to the interaction and it’s like we’re telling the person (hypothetically speaking); “I’m not going say that I was just scared to walk by and stuck in my mind, so putting it nicely; “Excuse Me” can you move?

We say; “Excuse Me” also when we want to get the attention of someone which in most cases is self-interest based where we’re either asking for help/assistance in something or letting someone know that they’ve dropped or forgot something, which in that case falls under doing a “good” deed and expecting a charismatic play out of some sort. The excuse within this is self-explanatory which is like telling ourselves and then the person (hypothetically speaking), “I didn’t take the time to investigate what it is I want to know/need help with, that’s too much work to tell you” so, “Excuse Me” can you help me please? And, I’m going to let that person know that they’ve dropped or forgot something, to do my “good” deed for the day and karma will come back to me, so all I have to say to you is; “Excuse Me” you’ve dropped or forgot something.

I have used the statement; “Excuse Me” all the time, thinking/perceiving/believing it to be a “nice” thing to say to people, not realize the word “excuse” within it and the hidden meanings behind the ways that I used it. Looking back at each time I used this statement, I see it was out of the aforementioned context which was all excuse driven. There was no valid context in which I used it. There is also no context that I have found in which this phrase originates from, all I know is that this has been and acceptable way of communication within our society and within my immediate environment in particular hence my usage of the statement; “Excuse Me”. For this I apply self-forgiveness.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize the word “excuse” in “Excuse Me”.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have used the statement; “Excuse Me” from the perspective of needing a “nice” way to say to someone; “Hey I’m trying to get your attention so look at me”.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to say; “Excuse Me” when I’ve walked by someone and accidently bumped into them and not take responsibility for watching where I was walking because I was either in a rush and/or stuck in my mind.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to resoundingly say; “Excuse Me” whenever I was walking and came across someone blocking the pathway who don’t see me coming, because before I got up to them I had all kinds of thoughts, play outs going through my mind as in; “What should I do” and “What if this or that happen” and “What if the person reacts to me passing by”.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to fail to take responsibility for being in my mind in allowing thoughts/feelings/emotions to present perceived play outs, leading up to the interaction with someone.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to say; “Excuse Me” when I want to get the attention of someone, out of self-interest where, I was either asking for help/assistance in something or letting someone know that they’ve dropped or forgot something.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to see/realize/understand the excuse within this which is like telling oneself and then the person (hypothetically speaking), “I didn’t take the time to investigate what it is I want to know/need help with, that’s too much work to tell you” so, “Excuse Me” can you help me please? And, I’m going to let that person know that they’ve dropped or forgot something, to do my “good” deed for the day and karma will come back to me, so all I have to say to you is; “Excuse Me” you’ve dropped or forgot something.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to use the statement; “Excuse Me” all the time, thinking/perceiving/believing it to be a “nice” thing to say to people, not realizing the word “excuse” within it and the hidden meanings behind the way that I used it.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to see/realize/understand that by saying; “Excuse Me” to people, I am giving myself an excuse to not have to explain to or face what is really going on inside my mind towards people that I come across and interact with in my immediate environment on the daily.

When and as I see myself using the statement; “Excuse Me” from the perspective of needing a “nice way to say to someone; “Hey I’m trying to get your attention so look at me”, I stop and breathe. I see/realize/understand that by saying; “Excuse Me” to people, I am giving myself an excuse to not have to explain to or face what is really going on inside my mind towards people that I come across and interact with in my immediate environment on the daily.

I commit myself to no longer excuse myself to have to talk to people but instead interact with them as I would like to be interacted with, in communicating effectively with them.

When and as I am walking by someone, I commit myself to taking a breath and slowing myself down as to not be in a rush or stuck in my mind but to watch where I am walking. I realize in doing so, I will not accidently bump into someone.

When and as I am walking and come across someone blocking the pathway who don’t see me coming, before I resoundingly say; “Excuse Me”, I stop and breathe. I realize this will stop me from having all kinds of thoughts, play outs from going through my mind.

I commit myself to if this is the case to go around them and/or announce my arrival in a subtle way.

When and as I see myself failing to take responsibility for being in my mind and allowing thoughts/feeling/emotions to present perceived play outs leading up to the interaction with someone, I stop and breathe. I realize that I am living in separation from myself in assume that others have it in for me.

I commit myself to staying here in every moment of breathe, leading up to the interaction with someone, so when the moment comes my communicating with them will be effective.

When and as I see myself saying; “Excuse Me” when I want to get the attention of someone, out of self-interest, where I either ask for help/assistance in something or letting someone know that they dropped or forgot something, I stop and breathe. I see/realize/understand the excuse within this which is like telling oneself and then the person (hypothetically speaking), “I didn’t take the time to investigate what it is I want to know/need help with, that’s too much work to tell you” so, “Excuse Me” can you help me please? And, I’m going to let that person know that they’ve dropped or forgot something, to do my “good” deed for the day and karma will come back to me, so all I have to say to you is; “Excuse Me” you’ve dropped or forgot something.

I commit myself to investigating what it is I want to know/need help with before I get to any place, unless it’s in a spare moments time, meaning and unplanned stop or when investigation is unwarranted and I commit myself to unconditionally helping other in reminding them if they left/forgot something or unaware that they have dropped something as this is how I would like to be treated.

I commit myself to redefining my use of the statement; “Excuse Me” from being one of self-interest and excuse driven based to unconditionally saying; “Excuse Me” as a passive statement use in a commonsensical way without going into my mind and bringing up thoughts and attaching feelings and emotions to it.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

