Day 103: When the Going Gets Tough, Keep Going

gOING-GET-TOUGHThis is a saying that I have heard throughout my life, but hadn’t really understood what Tough was until I decided to walk this process. I mean of course things can be and are tough at time throughout our lives and for the most part we get through it, unless we were born and raised in an environment where there is nothing you can do about your situation, in that case what we experience as being Tough really isn’t, we’re just spoiled rotten, seeing that the slightest deterrent from or momentary lack of something, we define as being tough to go without or through.

It’s like when you have too much money you try and run away from the term survival in itself and leave that for the peasants so to speak, while using the term survival as an excuse/justification to continue being greedy and to keep what you have. In this case we define things being too Tough in a future sense as in; “If I don’t have “enough”, thing will get tough”, but what is “enough”?

That’s one way of looking at it. Another is, being that I was raised in a middle to poor class of society we went through the survival phase to where at times the Going got Tough and we kept going, meaning my parents didn’t once look back (as far as I knew) or stop working because there was too many mouths to feed. I didn’t hear or experience them complaining, so that aspect of my life was ok.
Now where I started to experience things getting Tough was when I left home and was out on my own and had to survive. That’s when things became a preference to me as to whether I wanted to do this or that, so When the Going Got Tough of course I kept going, being that the “Tough” was by my own design, but When the Going Got really Tough, I ran away.

Changes/changing wasn’t something that I considered as being Tough to go through or do because I had already went through a lot of them from the perspective of having to pick up and move here/there, go here or there, I got used to it to the point where I enjoyed moving someplace new and couldn’t wait to set up my things once I got there. As far as changing myself! “Huh” “What”, “this was unheard of”. “Why do I have to change myself, there’s nothing “wrong” with me”, “I’m fine” was what came up at the beginning of my process, which was all fear based and as the resistance started to set in was When the Going started to Get Tough and I started to feel as if I wanted to give up. This is not to say that I am through the things being Tough experience because I experience this every day when I get up in the mornings.

Each morning when I get up, first off it’s early, so for a moment the Going Gets Tough, I Keep Going. Then my responsibilities/routine starts and the Going Gets Tough, I keep Going and once I’ve gotten through my morning responsibilities/routine, I’m glad that I Kept Going ,but it doesn’t stop here. Throughout my day being that I have been participating in my mind for so long throughout my life, whenever I do not catch or stop my thoughts but instead follow them, my body lets me know and the feeling of; This is too much comes up and wanting to give up, but then I remind myself; When the Going Gets Tough, Keep Going.

That being said although I didn’t see/realize/understand that the Going Gets Tough is resistance and the fact that things are only as tough as I make them out to be, is by my own design, no matter what, I commit myself to keep going.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to think what I experience going though as being Tough, but in fact I was just spoiled rotten, seeing that the slightest deterrent from or momentary lack of something, I define as being tough to go without or through.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to design things being tough for myself do to having preferences as to whether I wanted to do this or that which resulted in having no stable foundation in my life so I just pick up and moved here/there and went here/there, although I kept going, When the Going Got really Tough, not realize that me moving here/there was me running away from, instead of handling my responsibilities.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to run away from not handling my responsibilities which resulted in having no stable foundation in my life in which I am still experiencing the consequences for.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to when it came to changing oneself say things like; “Huh” “What”, “this is unheard of”. “Why do I have to change myself, there’s nothing “wrong” me”, I’m fine, not realizing the sheer fact that I said that, I am in need of/require change in my life.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize that I was saying the aforementioned out of fear. The fear of having to do what I deemed as “the Going Gets Tough”.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to let resistance set in where the Going started to get tough and I started to feel as if I wanted to give up.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to start feeling as if I wanted to give up at the beginning of my process and still have the thought of giving up to go through my mind at times, not realizing that the thought will come and go but not to react to it and Keep Going.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to throughout my day at times not catch or stop my thoughts, but instead follow them.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to see/realize/understand that the Going Gets Tough is resistance and the fact things are only as tough as I make them out to be, is by my own design.

When and as I see myself thinking what I experience going through as being Tough, I stop and breathe. I realize that what I experience is by my own design and is only as tough as I make it out to be.

I commit myself to re-design my experiences to what is best for all and throughout the duration of getting to that point, When the Going Gets Tough, I will Keep Going.

When and as I see myself designing things to be tough, do to having preferences as to whether I want to do this or that which will result in an unstable foundation, I stop and breathe. I realize that I have been down that road before and didn’t have an outcome that was best for me and I also realize that through this design I am running away from handling my responsibilities.

I commit myself to handling my responsibilities as in creating and maintaining a stable foundation for myself.

I commit myself to continuing my process of self-change and getting to the point of living the change that I want to be as in what is best for all life.

When and as I see myself fearing having to do what I deemed as “the Going Gets Tough”, I stop and breathe. I realize that fear is not required When the Going Gets Tough, but I need to “strap up my boots tight” so to speak and Keep Stepping.

I commit myself to no matter how tough I perceive things to get, to Keep Going.

I commit myself to when and as I see myself letting resistance set in where the Going starts to get tough and I start feeling as if I want to give up, I stop and breathe and realize that the thought will come and go but not to react to it and Keep Going.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

