Day 96: Outfits

OutfitsSunday’s Best, Easter Suits, Jogging Outfit, Club Clothes, Dinner Jackets, Swim Suit, Work Clothes, Uniforms etc., all falls under the title of Outfits in which we wear Out to try and Fit in. Not realizing in all actuality we are Out-Casting ourselves from our body just as soon as we mention the words; “Is my Outfit ok” to others or within ourselves because at the point of asking is when we give our power away in service to the perceptions of others. We’ll justify to ourselves; “I just want to look presentable” which in turn brings up the point of a “presentation” in which Lies the question; “Who are we presenting ourselves to”? {This is not to say that we shouldn’t be aware of what we wear, as we have created a society where you just can’t wear anything anywhere), but to walk the point of placing an Outfit or the word Outfit outside of oneself.

Throughout my life I have had a plenty of Outfits all designed to make me look and feel a certain way when and as I went to different places and/or functions. Predominately as an Adult when I became more self-conscious of the way I presented myself was when I coined the phrase; “Dress to impress” where I brought clothes that I perceived would make me look cool and would get me the attention that I “so” desired. The funny thing was, I didn’t get the attention I expected and used the justification of; “At least I feel good about myself” to try and soothe over the emotional turmoil that I experienced when I didn’t receive the attention I was expecting.

For the most part I thought I was passed dressing to impress others (Although I recently participated in dressing to impress others a short while ago) until this morning when I finished getting ready and looked myself over and said; “Is my Outfit ok” to myself, which in that moment I realized another layer that I had been participating in of the same point that had been hidden from plain sight (so to speak) and I knew I had to investigate. So for this;

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to define Outfits as something I wear Out to try and Fit in.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to realize in all actuality I was Out-Casting myself from my body just as soon as I mentioned the words; “Is my Outfit ok” to others or within myself because at the point of asking was when I gave my power away in service to the perceptions of others.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to give my power away in service to the perceptions of others.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to use as a justification to myself; “I just want to look presentable” which in turn brings up the point of a “presentation” in which Lies the question; “Who am I presenting myself to”?

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have participated in creating a society where you just can’t wear anything anywhere from the perspective of being comfortable with what I wear.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to throughout my life have had plenty of Outfits all designed to make me look and feel a certain way when and as I went to different places and/or functions.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to become self-conscious of the way I presented myself and coined the phrase; “Dress to impress”, where I brought clothes that I perceived would make me look cool and would get me the attention that I “so” desired.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to perceive that clothes would make me look cool and would get me the attention I “so” desires.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to think/perceive/believe that I “so” desire attention.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to when I didn’t get the attention I expected used the justification of; “At least I feel good about myself” to try and soothe over the emotional turmoil that I experienced when I didn’t receive the attention I was expecting.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to perceive that I am experiencing emotional turmoil when I didn’t get the attention I was expecting.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to think/perceive/believe that I needed clothes to make me feel good about myself.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to think I was passed dressing to impress others until this morning when I finished getting ready and looked myself over and said; “Is my Outfit ok” to myself.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to say to myself this morning; “Is my outfit ok” because I was still allowing myself to be in service to the perceptions of others.

When and as I see myself defining Outfits as something I wear Out to try and Fit in, I stop and breathe. I see/realize/understand I am giving my power away in service to the perceptions of others.

I commit myself wearing what is comfortable and casual to where I am going.

When and as I see myself mentioning the words; “Is my Outfit ok” to others or within myself, I stop and breathe. I realize in all actuality I am Out-casting myself from my body and re-living a mind construct of my past of; “Dressing to impress”.

I commit myself to no longer live in the past where I coined the phrase; “Dress to impress” but instead I will dress comfortably and casual to where I am going.

When and as I see myself justifying to myself; “I just want to look presentable”, I stop and breathe. I realize that is a bullshit excuse that I use to stay within my same ole frame of mind of dressing to impress.

I commit myself to stopping my bullshit excuses and eradicating all triggers that would lead me back in that ole frame of mind.

When and as I see myself becoming self-conscious of what I wear and wanting to present myself some other way, I stop and breathe. I realize that my mind wants to step in and direct my decision in what I wear.

I commit myself to making a decision of wearing what is comfortable and casual to where I am going.

When and as I see myself perceiving clothes makes me look cool and make me feel better about myself. I stop and breathe. I realize in that moment that I am not standing stable within myself as who I am as life, but stuck in my mind of thoughts/feeling/emotions where I have lost myself momentarily in following thoughts around in my head.

I commit myself to stopping my mind of thoughts/feelings/emotions so that I am able to stand stable as who I am as life in every moment by investigating my thoughts/feeling/emotions through writing, self-forgiveness and self-corrective application.

I commit myself to no longer give my power away in service to the perceptions of others.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

