Day 71: Killing Life

Killing-LifeWhy is it that we kill life every day and not notice that we’re doing it? This is because we don’t pay attention to where we walk, ride our bikes, motorcycles, cars, trucks, vans etc. Understanding that most of these are unavoidable like in the driving vehicles part, but even still, before we get on the road do we say within ourselves to the unavoidable that if I run over/run into anything of life, I’m sorry beforehand? No, this is unheard of. We are quick to say; “I didn’t see it” which might be the case, but then when we are put on the spot we say; “Well, it shouldn’t have been in “my” way”. We insinuate that by calling them “pest”.

I have taken notice to (for a while now) where I walk, where I step and the little things of life around me and still I don’t catch everything sometimes until it’s too late. I then apologize to it and discard of it correctly. If I see an insect, ant, bug, fly, bee etc. that has found its way out of its environment, instead of killing it, I gently place it back in its environment.

I haven’t always been this way. Growing up, I was somewhat afraid of insects but didn’t like killing them. In the summer it would be the mosquitos and we would use this spray called “Off” that was supposedly a repellant but what I noticed is that, it seemed as if the more I used this mosquito repellant, the more I attracted mosquitos to me and the more I got bit.

Another thing that sparked my interest to write about this topic is, I was watching the documentary “Pandora’s Box” by Adam Curtis where in part E4 Goodbye Mrs. Ant, they was showing how and when chemistry became the next big thing in America and the rest of the world where the chemist invented this chemical called DDT that they used as a pesticide to spray out of air planes and helicopters over the farmers crops that would kill all of the bugs/insects that would eat the crops. The problem with this was, not only did it kill the bugs/insects it also killed the birds and some of the wildlife into extinction. The story goes on to the corporations being taken to court and the chemical being banned from being ever used again. Ironically enough the guy who was fighting for the corporations and for the chemical to continue to be used, died of a bee sting.

What’s fascinating is that we don’t see what we’re doing as being a problem until the damage is done, because we blind ourselves with making money and or making a profit, in spite of life being abused and murdered.

So, I didn’t see/realize/understand how I have contributed to the abuse and killing life from the point of not taking responsibility for what’s around me as life in being aware of it. By not saying anything when I see someone abuse or kill life in my presence in the form of bugs/insects. By changing myself first as to the way I look at and treat life, then my outer environment will change and eventually the world to that which is best for all life.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to contribute to killing life every day and not notice that I’m doing it.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have not paid attention to where I’ve walked, rode my bike, motorcycle, car, truck or van as a collective, as to being aware of life in the form of insects, ants, bugs, flies, bees etc.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have not, before I’ve gotten on the road say within myself to the unavoidable that if I run over/run into anything as life, I’m sorry beforehand.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have been quick to say; “I didn’t see it” when it comes to running over, stepping on or hitting a bug/insect, which might have been the case, but then when I was put on the spot, I said; “Well it shouldn’t have been in “my” way”.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to, growing up, be somewhat afraid of bugs/insects.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to attempt to kill mosquitos in the summer time growing up with this spray called “Off” that was supposedly a repellant, although I noticed it seemed as if the more I used this mosquito repellant, the more I attracted mosquitos to me and the more I got bit.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have contributed to the abuse and murder of life in the form of bugs/insects on earth.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to see/realize/understand how I have contributed to the abuse and killing life from the point of not taking responsibility for what’s around me as life in being aware of it. By not saying anything when I see someone abuse or kill life in my presence in the form of bugs/insects. By changing myself first as to the way I look at and treat life, then my outer environment will change and eventually the world to that which is best for all life.

I commit myself to when and as I see myself contributing to killing life every day and not notice that I’m doing it, I stop and breathe. I see/realize/understand how I have contributed to the abuse and killing life from the point of not taking responsibility for what’s around me as life in being aware of it. By not saying anything when I see someone abuse or kill life in my presence in the form of bugs/insects. By changing myself first as to the way I look at and treat life, then my outer environment will change and eventually the world to that which is best for all life.

I commit myself to being aware of all forms of life around me which includes bugs/insects and changing myself first as to the way I look at and treat life so that then my outer environment will change and eventually the world to that which is best for all life.

I commit myself to paying more attention to where I walk, ride my bike as to being aware of life in the form of insects, ants, bugs, flies, bees etc. and no longer say to myself; “I didn’t see it” or “It shouldn’t have been in “my” way” but instead beforehand within myself say to the unavoidable that if I run over/run into anything as life, I’m sorry.Killing life

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

