Day 14: What Motivates You to Do What You Do?

Throughout my life I have been one to only do things if I was motivated. It starts with being rewarded as a child if I did something that my parents wanted me to do or learned how to do something. I would receive praise. The motivation was things like; if I cleaned my room, I could go outside and play. The other was using fear as a scare tactic to get motivated to do things and get things done. Using the same example, if I didn’t clean my room I would get punished. From then on I would only be motivated to do things if I was going to receive something out of it. Like money.

I have come accustom to “if I can’t get anything out of it, I’m not motivated to do it. It could be as simple as a friend needing a ride some place and because I’m not motivated to do it, I will make up an excuse as to why I’m unable to give them a ride, when all alone it’s because there’s nothing in it for me.

I realize that motivation shouldn’t have any rewards or fear as a scare tactic attached to it. So in that, I am walking the point of changing reward and fear/scare tactic as motivation to things because it is common sense.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to use being rewarded as motivation to do things.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to use fear as a scare tactic to get motivated to getting things done and having to do things.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to use money as motivation to do things.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to think/perceive/believe that I need to be motivated to do things.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to realize that motivation shouldn’t have any reward and fear attached to it.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to come accustom to “if I can’t get anything out of it” to not be motivated to do it.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to make up an excuse as to why I’m unable to give a friend a ride because of lack of motivation.

I forgive myself that I haven’t accepted and allowed myself to do things because it is common sense.

I commit myself to when and as I use reward as motivation to do things, I stop and breathe. I realize that my participation in the need a reward character hinders me from getting things done and thus inhibits me from being as effective as I am able to be.

I commit myself to when and as I use fear as a scare tactic to get motivated to getting things done and having to do thing, I stop and breathe. I see/realize/understand that using fear as a scare tactic hinders me from focusing on the task at hand because I am too scared thinking about the what if factor and thus inhibits me from being as effective as I am able to be. Therefore,

I commit myself to no longer use fear as a scare tactic to get motived to get things done and having to do things, but instead use common sense in understanding why things need to be done and do it.

I commit myself to when and as I see myself using money as motivation to do things, I stop and breathe. I realize that by using money as motivation to doing things I tend to rush to finish in chase of getting the money which I end up doing the job hap hazardly, which hinders me from being focus and thus inhibits me from doing the job as effective and I am able to.

I commit myself to UN-accustom myself to needing motivation to getting things done and having to do things.

I commit myself to no longer having to make up an excuse to give a friend a ride because of lack of motivation.

About carltontedford

In Process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

